The Palanga Amber Museum – Branch of the Lithuanian National Museum of Art – was established on August 3, 1963. It is housed on the estate of Count Feliksas Tiskevicius (1865–1932). The estate, designed by German architect Franc Schwechten (1841–1924), was built in 1897. The Palanga Botanical Gardens, designed by the landscape architect Eduard Francois Andre (1840–1911), surround the Estate.The Palanga Amber Museum’s exposition takes up 15 rooms. About 4500 exhibit pieces are found here. Visitors are acquainted with the formation, processing, practical application, and morphological variations of amber. The museum has a wealth of amber pieces with trapped insects or plants, a collection of unique pieces of amber, and examples of fossilized tree resin brought from all over the world. The Palanga Amber Museum is a branch of the Lithuanian National Museum of Art. About 8 million people have come to visit the Palanga Amber Museum. The Museum is famous for its traditional cultural events. For 30 summers now the terrace has been home to the night serenade concerts. Interesting cultural events and meetings with artists take place in the Fireplace Hall of the Estate.